writing

Try, try again

happiness is a piece of cake close up photography
Photo by Antonio Quagliata on Pexels.com

It’s been a pretty darn good year for me as a writer. I feel like I’ve really started to find my footing, and even though I haven’t quite achieved the dream yet, I feel like I’m getting closer and closer. But I’m not going to lie, coming close still stings.

Last week, I heard back from the Writers of the Future contest, and sadly, my story didn’t make it to the winner’s circle. It did, however, make it past the first readers and go to the actual judge, so I have chosen to take huge pride in that. (And I’ve also chosen to expand the story into a full novel this NaNoWriMo. Please check it out!) I worked extremely hard on this story, and seeing it gain even a little recognition makes me happy.

Additionally, Object and Objective remains my largest success from this past summer, now with 113 subscribers and over 3.8k hits. For that, I’m extremely thankful to the wonderful community over on Tapas, and I fully plan on entering their brand-new Writer’s Camp challenge this coming November (especially since they’ve teamed up with NaNo!) It’s something I can actually put on queries, and it’s a story I truly love.

Basically, even though I haven’t yet claimed an official win for things that I have written this year, I have come so much closer than I ever thought possible. It’s a matter of trying, and then trying some more, and continuing to try until I finally achieve my ultimate goal. Serendipitously, I ran into a writing friend this weekend (a professionally-published playwright) who told me that “Persistence is the single most important factor in a writer’s success,” and I fully plan on embodying that phrase as I move forward to the end of this year and into the next.

Anyway, I have a lot of writing projects to work on, so I’m going to go do that. Thanks for reading, and keep trying and trying to reach your goals!

Leave a comment